I recently watched this movie- RIP: A Remixer’s Manifesto in my ECMP 355 class and as a tech task we were asked to respond to it. This movie was divided into four sections:  (1) culture always builds on the past, (2) the past always tries to control the future, (3) our future is becoming less free, and (4) to build free societies you must limit the control of the past.
I can honestly say that I download music onto my computer for myself but, luckily for me it is not illegal to do this in Canada.  I am glad that we are still able to do this because I would rather listen to music from a variety of different artists instead of going out and buying their album and only liking a few songs.
I think that what the individual who calls himself Girl Talk is doing is really cool. He mixes up a variety of different songs and recreates them so that they do not sound anything like the original songs. I see this as being an individual who is creating their own type of songs rather then a case of copyright issues. It is important that people have a right to free speech– Fair use (Fair dealing in Canada). I liked how Girl Talk was saying that the companies do not ask us if it’s okay that their music is played (that we have to listen to)  in restaurants or shopping malls but we must ask their permission to mix songs because of copyright issues.
Within this movie they pointed out that the 21st century literacy is about building a new culture, creating culture, and recreating the past. It is up to us as to how we want our culture to look like and therefore it is important to share our ideas instead of having them copyright. This may come into effect in the classroom if you are trying to collaborate information but are restricted because some of it is patented. Like the film said, a cure for cancer might be a step away but the information is patented and therefore restricts people from using it.
The film also states that no one creates in isolation,  it comes from someone else such as music, literature, or cinema. Therefore I believe that copyright rules should not be as strict if we are coming up with new ideas and only using certain parts of the song, literature or movie. We must build off of what has occurred in the past in order to create the future.

