These past few days I have been doing a lot of Christmas shopping with my brother and my dad and have come to realize how much I really don’t enjoy the gift part of this holiday. The stores are insanely busy and people are being forced to come up with ideas of what they would like. If a person has to think so much about what they would like are gifts really necessary? My dad would see something and say “do you think mom would like this? or does mom need this?” I think Christmas has become more about the idea of spending money and buying a gift that would please someone rather then really putting thought into it.
I believe Christmas is a time where people should get excited about seeing family they don’t see very often rather then being eager to open gifts. Many of these gifts we can live without but having a family there to share some laughs can not overpower a gift. There are many people around the world who do not have family gatherings and large amounts of food to look forward to, and because of this, I believe we need to be grateful for what we have rather then what we want as a gift. I think a great solution to having to think of a gift to buy someone and being involved in the busy stores is to give to a charity such as Samaritan’s Purse or Operation Christmas Child. You could then put a family member’s name on it and send it to a person or family in need. These people would benefit to a greater extent then I ever would by getting the money to have a nutritious meal or being provided the opportunity to go to school. This time of year really makes me think.. what is really important to me? what do I need or what do I just want?

