Tonight was my last night of my Early Childhood Education class. This group of people were at first strangers to me at the beginning of the semester but have now become a close webbed community of friends. At the end of the evening we exchanged mailing addresses which I will use to my advantage to remain connected with these individuals. I feel that through their experiences that they have shared while doing their internship has helped prepare me as a future teacher. Since this was such a close group we were all able to express ourselves and share personal information with one another without the fear of being judged or that they would tell everyone. At the beginning of each class we would have a community circle where we would share our thoughts about what is going on in our lives or how we feel about this class. This was a great way to set the mood for the evening as everyone could adjust to how others felt. In my future classroom I would like to start each day or even just once a week with a community circle as a way to honour my students’ thoughts and feelings. The two professors that we had were very understanding and willing to shape the class to accommodate us which was a huge change from other university classes. This class by far has been one of my favourite because it has been such a comfortable and unique environment.  As I continue on my journey I hope to continuously create relationships with fellow educators so that when I am teaching, I can look to these people for support.

